Skip to content


Danubian Voyage is one of the latest project of the Dutch band – Arifa. The band is based in Amsterdam, Netherlands.
The line-up of the band is:

Zhivko Vasilev – kaval (Bulgaria)
Bence Huszar – cello (Hungary)
Franz von Chossy – piano (Germany)
Sjahin During – percussion (Turkey/Netherlands)

Ancient musical traditions from the Middle East and Balkans are blended with jazz and contemporary improvised music through a Western frame of mind. 

Arifa’s secret lies in the creative chemistry between its four members. Coming from Bulgaria, Hungary, Turkey, the Netherlands and Germany their music is just as diverse as their origins, moving from traditional Turkish and Balkan sounds to jazz and contemporary music.